What to Expect in June 2023

With the Summer Season on the horizon, Viz Media has announced a list of major releases for the month of June 2023. This includes new manga series by major writers and artists, the return of beloved stories, along with major DVD launches. Also coming this month are some works made in collaboration with Marvel. 

All works can be purchased through Viz Media or authorized vendors. Here is a breakdown of all the major releases from Viz Media during the month of June.

Series Debut

Goodbye, Eri is a new series by Tatsuki Fujimoto, the creator of Chainsaw Man. Following the passing of his mother, Yuta meets a mysterious girl named Eri. They quickly become close due to their passion for cinema. The two begin working on a movie but it becomes clear that Eri is harboring a secret.

Until I Love Myself, Vol. 1 is a story about confronting your past and being happy with who you are. Poppy Pesuyama has gone their entire life being abused by those around them. Now they have to try and come to terms with all that has happened. 


Spider-Man: Fake Red follows a fan who becomes the titular hero for a day. Yu’s day takes an unexpected turn when he finds one of Spider-Man’s outfits abandoned in an alleyway. He puts it on to live out his fantasy only to take on the mantel of Spider-Man when a powerful foe appears. 

Wolverine: Snikt! follows the titular hero in a battle to save humanity. Set in a post-apocalyptic world, Wolverine is the only hope in a war against robotic organisms. 

Anime Tie-Ins

Dragon Ball Super Vol. 18 is set during the climax of Granolah and Goku’s battle. Granolah is willing to put his life on the line to take Vegeta down but Monaito has an important tale about what happened on planet Cereal all those years ago.

Mashle: Magic and Muscles Vol. 12 is set during the climax of the battle between Doom and Mash. Something goes wrong with Mash’s body resulting in the Divine Visionaries arrival. This forces Innocent Zero and Doom to withdraw in preparation for something bigger. 

Call of the Night Vol. 12 begins when a few of Ko’s human friends are attacked by a mysterious vampire. Luckily, Ko’s half-vampire powers are growing ever more powerful. Setting the stage for a confrontation with the attacker. 

Komi Can’t Communicate Vol. 25 begins during Komi’s final year of high school. As the end of high school inches closes, time is running out for he to achieve her goal of making 100 friends. It’s not going to be easy and already there are challenges being tossed at her.

Demon Slayer: Kimetsu no Yaiba – Signs From the Wind follows the journey of several members of the Demon Slayer Corp. Masachika Kumeno and Sanemi Shinazugawa are hunting down one of the Twelve Kizuki. Kanamori Nagachika hopes to smooth things out with Hotaru Haganezuka. Inosuke is tasked with searching for Kiyo Terauchi’s stolen butterfly clip.

Fist of the North Star Vol.9 is set after an epic contest that results in Kenoh leaving his brothers. This allows Ryuga to turn against him and established his own stronghold. Meanwhile, Ken and Toki head there to find out what Ryuga knows about Kenoh. 

New Release

Alice in Borderland Vol. 6 focuses on the ongoing battle against the King of Clubs. Arisu and his team are struggling to make up for their point deficit. But no matter the strategy, the King of Clubs maintains the upper hand. 

Ayashimon Vol. 2 has Maruo finally living the life he’s always wanted.  With this new life comes its own challenges that will put his skills to the test.

Sakamoto Days Vol. 8 is set during the third stage of the JCC transfer test. Participants are divided into multiple teams for a deadly game with three applicants causing a stir with their disturbing styles.

Insomniacs After School Vol. 2 focuses on the school and how it’s forcing the re-formed astronomy club to operate as a proper club. The issue is neither Nakami nor the club’s adviser knows a thing about astronomy. 

Love’s in Sight! Vol. 2 has Yukiko and Morio’s relationship put to the test in the form of Hachiko Tono.

Mission: Yozakura Family Vol. 5 focuses on Taiyo visiting the Library of the Dead to learn more about his parent. However, the library has an infamous reputation that will test Taiyo’s skills.

DVD Sets

Boruto: Naruto Next Generations – The Otsutsuki Awaken follows Boruto, Naruto, and Sasuke as they attempt to defend the Leaf Village from the Otsutsuki Clan. The set features 21 Episodes (211-231) spread out on 3 Blu-ray discs. Among the special features include the storyboards, art gallery, and commentary by the cast. 

More to Come

These are not the only works that Viz Media will be releasing during the month of May. More announcements could be made in the future.

VIZ Media is the largest publisher and distributor of manga in North America. They are also the biggest distributor of anime on home media. Besides their business, they are also active in the fandom community with their support for anime conventions.

8Bit/Digi is an independent media outlet that provides an insight into the gamer community of the San Francisco Bay Area.

Leave a Reply