As the year comes to an end, one could kick-off Winter 2021 with the premier or return of their favorite anime on Crunchyroll. The Winter 2021 lineup has over 30 titles either premiering, returning for a new season or continuing on (after having a premier in 2020).

Here is a breakdown of some of the titles that are part of the Winter 2021 lineup on Crunchyroll. The list is broken down between series that will continue on into 2021 along with the premier of new shows and seasons. This is not a complete list of the confirmed lineup and more are expected to be announced in the coming weeks.

Continuing into 2021

Attack on Titan: Final Season : Having premiered in December, this season brings closure to Eren Yeager and his friends. The Marlay Empire makes another attempt to acquire the Founding Titan to preserve their global dominance. Meanwhile, our heroes plot a counter attack following the revelation about the outside world.

Re:ZERO -Starting Life in Another World (Season 2): Season 2 continues the journey of Subaru Natsuki after he has been transported to a fantasy world. Season 2 has him learn more about the Death Loop while vowing to protect his friends.

Jujutsu Kaisen: Season 1 continues on into 2021. The story follows a school of Jujutsu Sorcerers as they protect the world of the living.

Onyx Equinox: This Crunchyroll original will continue in 2021. Izel has been chosen to prove humanities worth to the gods. To accomplish this task, he must team up with others and embark on on a quest to close the five gates to the underworld.

New Season Coming in Winter 2021

Dr. Stone Stone Wars: Season 2 follow the Stone Wars arch. Senku Ishigami wants to rebuild civilization using science and technology. However, Tsukasa Shishio feels that it was dependence on technology that were the causes of humanities evil ways. These opposing views camps are now at war for the future.

That Time I Got Reincarnated as a Slime (Season 2): The new season will continue the journey of Rimuru Tempest in the new world. Season 2 is set to premier on January 12th.

The Quintessential Quintuplets 2 (aka Season 2): The new season of this Rom-Com follows Futaro Uesugi and the academic purists of the Nakano Quintuplets (with love and marriage on the horizon!).

Laid-Back Camp (Season 2): The Outdoor Activities Club returns for another season of fun and adventure.  

Series Premiers in Winter 2021

So I’m a Spider, So What?: Based on the light novel series, this Crunchyroll Original follows a high school girl who is reborn as a spider.

Dr. Ramune Mysterious Disease Specialist: This fantasy adventure follows Dr. Ramune, who specialist in mysterious diseases. This Crunchyroll Original series is based on the manga series by Aho Toro.

The Hidden Dungeon Only I Can Enter: Noir is from an impoverished noble family who wants to be a hero. He finds a hidden dungeon that allows him to achieve his dream. However it comes at a price!

EX-ARM: Set in the world of 2030, a policewoman and her android partner activate the AI super weapon. They now must find what is responsible for this technology. This Crunchyroll Original is based on the hit SciFi manga.

8Bit/Digi is an independent media outlet dedicated to the video game community and industry of the San Francisco Bay Area.

Help Support 8Bit/Digi

We are an indie media outlet that provides an insight into the gaming community and industry of the Bay Area. Please help support independent media by donating today.


Leave a Reply